Artists / Illustrators / Portugal / Uncategorized

DAIENA DÂMASO, ‘Dai-namite’ artist and illustrator based in Lisbon

teste-mondela-6

Quem és tu?

Eu sou uma menina feliz que trabalha naquilo que ama e que optou por ser feliz mesmo sabendo que não é uma área economicamente segura.

Who are you?

I am a happy girl that does what she loves and choses a happy life over one that is overly secure or certain.

 

 

O que tu fazes?

Eu sou uma ilustradora freelance.

What do you do?

I am a freelance illustrator

IMG_4221

 

Onde?

Vivo e trabalho em Lisboa, que é a cidade mais linda e inspiradora que conheço.

 Where?

I live and work in Lisbon, the most beautiful and inspiring city I know.

 

Quem está lá para ti quando a porca torce o rabo?

José, o meu namorado, o meu amigo e meu conselheiro – ele é escritor, tem um visão muito diferente de minha, completa-me e desafia-me.

Who is there for you when sh*t hits the fan?

José, my boyfriend, my friend and who I go to for advice. He is a writer and he has a different vision from mine. He really completes me and he challenges me too.

 

 

 

 

O melhor elogio que recebeste sobre o teu trabalho:

Gosto quando alguém sorri a ver os meus desenhos.  Para mim é bom saber que de alguma forma trago momentos de alegria a desconhecidos.

Há um mês atrás eu estava no Mercado do Príncipe Real – um Mercado de rua onde vários artistas têm a possibilidade de mostrar os seus trabalhos –  e uma mulher começou a sorrir enquanto via um postal na minha mesa, então começamos a conversar um pouco sobre o significado das minhas ilustrações. Pouco depois, ela abraçou-me e disse-me que estava ter um dia muito triste, sendo que os meus desenhos a fizeram recuperar o sorriso e melhorar o seu dia.

Mais tarde, ela voltou ao mercado só para me oferecer um postal onde me escreveu palavras bonitas e encorajadoras.

 A unique/powerful piece of praise you have received:

I love to see people smiling when they see my works. For me, the best thing is to know that in some form  I can bring happiness to people that I don’t know. 

 For example, one month ago, I had a stall at the Market in Principe Real and a woman started to smile when she saw my work. I explained to her the meaning behind my illustrations. She hugged me and told me that she was having a really sad day and that these images helped to make it better.

Later in the day, she came back and gave me a postcard on which she had written some beautiful and encouraging words.  

Onde podemos encontrar o teu trabalho?   Where can we find your work?

Offline:

  • Upcoming Exhibition: Chá Chá Chá  – 27 Jun – 27 Jul at Double 9 Lisbon.
  • Mercados em Lisboa: Markets in Lisbon: Mercado Portugal Real no Principe Real ou PitchMarket no Terreiro do Paço.
  • Goodnight Hostel, Lisbon
  • Books: Partir, Fingir by Daiena Dâmaso and O Exôdo by José Trigueiros

Online:

Tumblr 

Facebook

Instagram

Tic tail a chegar!  // Tic tail is on it’s way!

 

dai_chachacha_poster_F

Graphics by Diogo Rosa 

 

Como podemos apoiar o teu trabalho?

Se gostarem dos meus trabalhos, podem sempre contactar-me para pintar uma parede, comprar as minhas ilustrações ou pedirem um original para alguma publicação.

How can we support it?

Anyone interested in my designs is free to contact me. I have made work in collaboration with various publications, brands and anyone needing creative wall paintings and designs. 

 

 

Projectos e colaborações que desejas fazer no futuro:

Gostava de ilustrar um livro para crianças e também me agrada a ideia de poder pintar mais na rua. Colaborar com outros artistas também está nos meus planos, sobretudo pela troca de conhecimentos e experiências que esse tipo de contacto proporciona. Tenho um hábito algo medieval de negociar com outros artistas. Por exemplo, agora mesmo, preciso que alguém me ajude com a comunicação do meu site, sendo que não me importaria de recompensar essa pessoa pintado uma parede na sua casa ou dando-lhe algum tipo de trabalho artístico em troca.

Future projects/collaborations you are looking to embark on:

I would like to illustrate a children’s book and I’d also like to paint more in the street. Collaborating with other artists is also in my plans, especially with the potential to share  knowledge and experiences. It might seem a bit old school but at the the moment I am looking for someone who is willing to exchange online communications services (i.e. website help) for an artwork or painting a wall in their house.  

 

open-show

Partir, Fingir by Daiena Dâmaso

 

IMG_4500

Cachalote feito com 4,335 garrafas de plástico reutilizadas // Made from 4,335 upcycled plastic bottles

 

Cachalote e alforreca elaborados por Dai e Sebastião Lobo para a Gala GCP 2017.

IMG_1050

Daiena Dâmaso was born in 1984 in Witten, a small German town known for its dynamite factory. When she was 2, her family relocated to Vale da Amoreira, south of Lisbon, where she would grow up surrounded by a fledgling urban art movement. When the time came, Dai moved to the other side of the Tagus river to pursue a degree in Equipment Design at Lisbon’s Fine Arts University. Curious to see what Barcelona had in store, she packed her bags once more and completed her degree as an Erasmus student in Spain.

Upon her return to Portugal, Dai had her first exhibition in 2014, ‘Amar, Amar, ir e voltar’. Nowadays you can find her paintings across all five floors of Goodnight Hostel in the centre of Lisbon, encounter her illustrations in an array of literary magazines and if you’re lucky, you might catch a glimpse of the giant whale that she constructed from 4,335 recycled plastic bottles.

As for the artist? You might find her perusing the shelves of a Lisbon bookstore on the lookout for colourful children’s books, with shining eyes and fingers covered in Posca pen.

 

dai-png

 

Leave a Reply

